Ken Weidner photoThe Living Wage Policy Study is directed by Dr. Ken Weidner, who has served as Assistant Professor of Management at Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia since 2000.

Dr. Weidner teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in business ethics and social responsibility, social justice, organizational change, leadership, and consulting skills. He previously served on the faculty of the Center for Organization Development at Loyola University Chicago.

Prior to his academic career, Dr. Weidner worked as both an internal and external consultant in the areas of organizational culture, leadership, change, communication, and organizational effectiveness. His clients included organizations in the service and technology sectors, including professional services firms, hospitals, and organizations in the mental health, information technology, and other fields.

Dr. Weidner holds an MBA and Ph.D. in Business from University of Illinois at Chicago and a BA (Management) from University of Illinois at Springfield.

Contact information: or 610.660.2112

Research and research support

2018 SJU Summer Scholar Ethan Dias (’19) assisted with conducting interviews with CHROs of institutions that have adopted living wage practices.

SJU graduate Elizabeth Sohmer (’16) conducted the original research that evolved into the Living Wage Policy Study as an SJU-sponsored Summer Scholar in 2015.

SJU graduate assistant Hayley Miles (MS ’19) provided research and data support for the Living Wage Policy Study.

SJU graduate assistant Jana Wolf (MBA ’17) provided research support for the Living Wage Policy Study.

Website support

SJU student Katherine Grimm (’21) provided assistance bringing the the Living Wage Policy Study website to life.

Data team

Our contact database is continually updated and refreshed by a team of SJU students.

The data team for the Living Wage Policy Study previously included SJU students Ankur Bhattacharya (’19), Katherine Grimm (’21), Nick Myers (’21), Hannah Salamon (’18), and Cara Smith (’21).

Photo credits

All banner photos sourced from Pexels via